PRESS RELEASE

TO: New Editor FROM: Jean Murungi

DESIGNATION: Public Relations Officer

SUBJ: NEW DAYSTAR UNIVERSITY COUNCIL INSTALLED IN OFFICE

For Immediate Release

Athi River, July 31, 2018... Prof. Henry Moses Thairu has been inaugurated as Chairman of newly installed Daystar University Council.

The new University Council was sworn into office today at a special commissioning ceremony presided over by Chair of the Daystar Company Board Rev. Dr. Macmillan Kiiru. Also present were members of Daystar Company Board, the Independent Taskforce, Management and Senate, Staff and students.

Speaking at the commissioning ceremony, Rev. Dr. Kiiru revealed that the reconstitution of the University Council was one among a raft of recommendations made by the Independent Taskforce.

Rev. Dr. Kiiru confirmed that during its one-year term in office, the new Council would among others tasks implement the recommendations of the Taskforce report, the Forensic Investigation report and the CUE Exit report. He said the recommendations contained therein include an assessment of the HR capacity of the University, the launch of the Law School, establishing a seat of Authority for the Athi River Campus, and initiating reconciliation and healing for the community.

The Commissioning charge was given by the Right Rev. Joseph Kanuku, Bishop Emeritus of the ACK Church and also a member of the Daystar Company challenged the new Council to ensure a Daystar where Christ is the centre of everything.

Bishop Kanuku called on the clergy and leaders in the country to be role models who can be emulated by the younger generation. "We need men and women who are blameless and pure, so that they can lead the way," he said, further challenging Daystar to stand up and give solutions to the nation and other countries.

The Ag. Vice-Chancellor Rev. Prof. James Kombo thanked the Taskforce for the good work, expressing confidence that their work would progress the University.

Upon receiving their charge, a dedication prayer was offered by Rev. Prof. Zablon Nthamburi of the Methodist Church, also a member of the Company, assisted by members of the clergy present among them Daystar Founder Rev. Dr. Donald Smith, former Company Chair Dr. James Mageria, current Company Chair Rev. Dr. Macmillan

Kiiru, the Ag. Vice-Chancellor Rev. Prof. James Kombo, and the University Chaplain Rev. Steven Nduto.

Members of the new Daystar University Council comprises two new members, three new members from the Taskforce and two from the outgoing Council

Mrs. Lillian Ogola: A Financial Analyst and Consultant who previously served on the Independent Taskforce (Governance and Legal Issues Committee);

Dr. Erastus Kihara Mureithi: The Executive Chairman Suera Group of Companies. He served on the Independent Taskforce (Committee on students and staff issues).

Mrs. Nyambura Musyimi: A new Council member who previously served as Managing Partner of Musyimi & Company Advocates (1996-2013), and Immediate former Chair of the Board of Directors of the Kenya Women Micro Finance Bank (2011 – May 2018);

Mr. Desmond Mtula: Managing Director of Church Commissioners of Kenya who served on the former Council as Chair of the Finance Committee

CPA Donald Odera: Partner of International Liaison and Head advisory services for Horwath Erastus Company. He was a member of the former Council as chair of Risk and Audit Committee.

Prof. Henry Moses Thairu: The new Chairman of Daystar University Council who also served as Chairman of the Independent Taskforce on Daystar University, which just completed its work.

For more information, please contact Jean Murungi, Email: jmurungi@daystar.ac.ke or on 0748 100759.